Sign In
Navigate Up


​​​​​​The Safety Codes Council is a statutory corporation that formulates and oversees the development and administration of safety codes and standards throughout the province. Working with its partners in government, labour, industry and education, the Safety Codes Council provides innovative, effective, and efficient public safety programs to industry and communities.
The Safety Codes Council is responsible to the Minister of Alberta Municipal Affairs and works under authority of the Safety Codes Act, which was passed in June 1991.
The Safety Codes Council is made up of:
  • a Board of Directors for the Council
  • a Technical Coordinating Committee who review and recommend codes and standards, and advise the Board of Directors on accreditation and certification matters
The Technical Coordinating Committee and sub-councils are made up of stakeholders representing a variety of industry groups with expertise in various fields. There are more than 130 volunteers who contribute their time and energy, and collectively make up the Safety Codes Council.
To learn more about the role of the sub-council member, read the Council Member Position Description.
The Council staff provide for the administration of the Council’s core businesses (accreditation, certification, education and training, appeals​, Alberta Master Electrician's Program, codes and standards, and eBS) in support of the provincial safety codes system. Council staff also support the activities of the Board of Directors, Technical Coordinating Committee, and the 10 sub-councils.

The Council values its employees, members and stakeholders. In order to ensure we are held accountable, we have created an Ethics Reporting hotline to report any wrongdoings. To access this hotline, please follow this link: Ethics Reporting Hotline.