Sign In
Navigate Up

New Fire SCO Certification and Training Structure

The requirements to become certified as a Fire safety codes officer (SCO) have recently changed. The new Fire SCO training is available now, and the revised scopes of practice will come into effect September 2019.

For detailed information about the new certification scopes please see our informational booklet.

The changes are the result of recommendations made by a working group consisting of representatives of the Office of the Fire Commissioner, the fire industry, municipalities, and other stakeholders. A survey that described the proposed changes was sent to all Fire SCOs, accredited organizations, and other stakeholders in August of 2016.

The Council analyzed the survey results and made revisions based on that feedback.

Fire Alarm Istock Small.jpg

Some of the key changes include:

  • Specific scopes of practice have been developed for each Group and Level.
  • Group A is a prerequisite for Group B and Group C.
  • A new stand-alone certification level has been established called Group E Petroleum Storage Tanks.
  • Group D (Restricted) Levels 1 and 2 certifications are being phased out. No new Group D certifications will be issued, but existing Group D SCOs will retain their certification provided that they continue to meet the requirements for renewal.
  • Firefighting experience is no longer a prerequisite for any Fire SCO certification.

Existing Fire SCOs will retain their current certification. No additional training will be required, provided that the SCO's scope of practice continues to meet the needs of the accredited organization. Since there are now clear scopes of practice, some SCOs will decide to gain another certification to meet the needs of their communities.

If you have questions about these changes, please contact us at 780-413-0099 or 1-888-413-0099, and ask to speak to a certification associate. You can also contact us by email at