Accessibility Sub-Council

For people with disabilities, it’s not always easy to get around. Could you imagine not using a ramp if you’re in a wheelchair? What if the fire alarm sounds, but you’re hearing impaired? Or how would you find an exit if you had a visual impairment? These are just a few of the many things the Accessibility Sub-Council considers.

The Accessibility Sub-Council members meet on a regular basis to discuss issues in the building industry and to make sure that our built environment is safe for all.


​Tanya Befus (Vice-Chair)
Industry Segment: ​​Non-Residential Building Management
Nominating Organization: Building Owners and Managers Association of Calgary (BOMA)

​Gunjan Dhawan
Industry Segment: ​​​Visual Disabilities
Nominating Organization: CNIB

Industry Segment: Education and Training
Nominating Organization: Education Institute

​Bev Knudtson
Industry Segment: ​Communication and Cognitive Disabilities
Nominating Organization: Alberta Health Services (AHS)

​Robert Lipka
Industry Segment: Commercial Construction/Land Development
Nominating Organization: Alberta Professional Planners Institute (APPI)

Bob Macklon
Industry Segment: Agility Disabilities
Nominating Organization: Multiple Sclerosis Society

Donna Monkhouse
Industry Segment: Residential Apartment and Condominium Owners/Managers
Nominating Organization: Alberta Residential Landlord Association (ARLA)

​Karen Muir
Industry Segment: Public at Large
Nominating Organization: Ministerial Order

​Lee Ramsdell
Industry Segment: Hearing Disabilities
Nominating Organization: The Canadian Hard of Hearing Association

​Georg Rath
Industry Segment: Aging Population
Nominating Organization: Alberta Seniors Communities and Housing Association (ASCHA)

Deliany Sather
Industry Segment: ​​​Home Construction
Nominating Organization: Building Industry Land Development Association (BILD)

Chris Schamber
Industry Segment: Mobility Disabilities
Nominating Organization: Spinal Cord Injury Alberta

​Ron Wickman
Industry Segment: Barrier Free Design
Nominating Organization: Alberta Association of Architects (AAA)

Simon Wunderli (Chair)
Industry Segment: Code Enforcement (SCO)
Nominating Organization: Alberta Building Officials Association (ABOA)