Board of Directors

Building safe communities is vital for Alberta’s future. Under the governance, strategic guidance, and policy direction of the Safety Codes Council’s Board of Directors, more than 130 volunteer members and more than 60 Edmonton-based employees work together to make Alberta a safe place to live, work, and play.

Jill Matthew
Board Director since 2017
Safety Codes Council (Chair)
Human Resources & Governance Committee (Chair)


Amina Deiab
Board Director since 2020
Safety Codes Council
(President & CEO)

Marcie Kiziak
Board Director since 2017
Human Resources & Governance Committee (Chair)

Owen Edmondson
Board Director since 2015
Safety Codes Council (Vice-chair)

Juan Monterrosa
Board Director since 2019
City of Edmonton
Audit & Risk Committee (member)

Tom Burton
Board Director since 2018
Rural Municipalities of Alberta
Audit & Risk Committee (Vice-chair)

Brenda Desjardins
Board Director since 2021
City of Calgary
Human Resources & Governance Committee (member)

Eóin Cooke
Board Director since 2021
Audit & Risk Committee (Chair)

Janet Jabush
Board Director since 2022
Alberta Municipalities
Human Resources & Governance Committee (Vice-chair)

Safety Codes Council Management

President and CEO: Amina Deiab
Vice President; Regulatory Affairs, Governance, and Policy: Katie Rowe
Director, Certification, Education, and Training: Kristopher Schmaltz
Administrator of Accreditation (acting): Peter Burrows
Administrator of Certification and Master Electricians: Catrin Berghoff