Elevators Sub-Council

Going up, going down. Elevators, escalatorsmanlifts for construction work, and lifts for people with physical disabilities are all part of what the Elevators Sub-Council does.

The Elevator Sub-Council members meet on a regular basis to discuss issues in the industry and to make sure that our built environment is safe to inhabit. Our Elevators Sub-Council members are generous volunteers who make the province a safer place. This sub-council works closely with the Delegated Administrative Organization Alberta Elevating Devices and Amusement Rides Safety Association (AEDARSA).


JC Bawa (Chair)
Industry Segment: Professional Engineers
Nominating Organization: Association of Professional Engineers and Geoscientists of Alberta (APEGA)

​Sarah Burghardt
Industry Segment: ​Public at Large
Nominating Organization: Ministerial Order

​Jeff Case
Industry Segment: Construction Contractors
Nominating Organization: Canadian Elevator Contractors Association (CECA)

Andrew Cross
Industry Segment: ​Elevator Maintenance
Nominating Organization: National Elevator and Escalator Association (NEEA)

Don Ireland (Vice-Chair)
Industry Segment: Labour
Nominating Organization: International Union of Elevator Constructors (IUEC)

​Richard Meunier
Industry Segment: ​Small Manufacturers and Lifts for Barrier Free Access
Nominating Organization: Provincial Based Manufacturer

​Jeff Mitchell
Industry Segment: Education and Training
Nominating Organization: Education Institutes

Ernie Paustian
Industry Segment: Real Estate Industry
Nominating Organization: Institute of Real Estate Management (IREM)

​Rob Pelletier
Industry Segment: Large Manufacturers
Nominating Organization: National or International Manufacturer

Stephen Weston
Industry Segment: ​Building Owners
Nominating Organization: Building Owners and Managers Association – Calgary (BOMA)

Jarret Young
Industry Segment: ​Building Owners
Nominating Organization: Building Owners and Managers Association – Edmonton (BOMA)

Barbara Shipman
Industry Segment: Architecture
Nominating Organization: Alberta Association of Architects (AAA)