Building Sub-Council

Humans live in an environment of their own making. The buildings that shape our lives are all around us: houses, apartments, office buildings, restaurants, churches and sports stadiums. The building codes ensure that a building stays strong and can stand up to the weather, the number of people inside, or even its own weight.

The Building Sub-Council members meet on a regular basis to discuss issues in the building industry and to make sure that our built environment is safe to inhabit. Our Building Sub-Council members are generous volunteers who make the province a safer place.


Grace O’Brien
Industry Segment: Architecture
Nominating Organization: Alberta Association of Architects (AAA)

​Colin Belliveau
Industry Segment: Labour
Nominating Organization: Building Trades of Alberta (BTA)

Keven Lefevbre
Industry Segment: Fire Officials
Nominating Organization: Alberta Fire Chiefs Association (AFCA)

David Flanagan
Industry Segment: Major Municipalities – North
Nominating Organization: City of Edmonton

Ingo Viehweger
Industry Segment: Consumer Protection
Nominating Organization: New Home Warranty Provider

Stephen Hill (Vice Chair)
Industry Segment: Rural Municipalities
Nominating Organization: Rural Municipalities of Alberta (RMA)

Keith Jansen
Industry Segment: Builders & Developers
Nominating Organization: Building Industry Land Development Association Alberta (BILD)

Corey Klimchuk (Chair)
Industry Segment: Building Owners
Nominating Organization: Building Owners and Managers Association (BOMA) Edmonton

Zachary Walker
Industry Segment: Public at Large
Nominating Organization: Ministerial Order

Matthew Kramer
Industry Segment: ​HVAC
Nominating Organization: Sheet Metal Contractors Association of Alberta (SMCAA)

​Terry O’Flaherty
Industry Segment: Mechanical Contractors
Nominating Organization: Mechanical Contractors Association of Alberta (MCA-Alberta)

Laura Ritchie
Industry Segment: Large Industrial Developments
Nominating Organization: Association of Accredited Corporations of Alberta (AACA)

Roger Buksa
Industry Segment: General Contractors
Nominating Organization: Alberta Construction Association (ACA)

Darin Sceviour
Industry Segment: Urban Municipalities
Nominating Organization: Alberta Urban Municipalities Association (AUMA)

​Darrin Harsch
Industry Segment: Building Officials
Nominating Organization: Alberta Building Officials Association (ABOA)

Industry Segment: Major Municipalities – South
Nominating Organization: City of Calgary

Industry Segment: Professional Engineers
Nominating Organization: Association of Professional Engineers and Geoscientists of Alberta (APEGA)

Cam Buskell
Industry Segment: Energy Efficiency
Nominating Organization: International Building Performance Simulation Association – Canada, Alberta Chapter